© 2023 by PlayPlay. Proudly created with Wix.com

Sundogs Bring Their Latest Vision To Life With 'Legends In Their Own Minds'

April 25, 2019

Sundogs is a Seattle based band that is composed of musicians Stan Snow and Jed Moffitti. The classic rock/jazz fusion band just came out with their second album, “Legends In Their Own Minds” that is both audio and video and it is a truly amazing musical and visual experience. It has all original music written by Snow and Mott, who are Seattle’s best known studio musicians.

 

Both musicians approach their style of songwriting at different angles, which produces a unique and diverse musical journey that we are eager to be a part of. With influences like The Who, Tom Petty, and Rolling Stones, there is no denying that they execute their bluesy classic rock vibes seamlessly.

 

On tracks like “Snowman” you can hear the jazz fusion side of what they do emanating from the track while the keyboard shines on “Alive Tonight” which is a beautiful song with gorgeous lyrics. The jazzy guitar vibes on “Johnny” will instantly make you want to rock out to this soulful band.

 

According to Snow and Mott, their main goal in music is to “satisfy the music fan within.” They continued by saying, “If it sounds good to us and it’s something that we like listening to over and over, that is the driving force in how we write, arrange, produce and record. We are doing it for the pure joy of it.”

 

That is shown all throughout their second album, “Legends In Their Own Minds” which is out now. The video part of the album will be released one at a time in the weeks and months ahead. Trust us, you will not want to miss out on this visual and audio masterpiece.

Release Info

Artist Name: Sundogs

Location: Seattle

Release Name: Legends In Their Own Minds

Release Date: March 5, 2019

Label: Independent

Producer: Stan Snow

Musicians: Stan Snow: Songwriter, Producer, Vocals and Guitars, etc.

Jed Moffitti: Songwriter, Co-Producer, Vocals and Keyboards

Styles: Classic Rock, Jazz Fusion

http://sundogsmusic.com/ 

https://www.facebook.com/SundogsMusicBand/

Track List:

  1. Fallen Hero

  2. Snowman

  3. Johnny

  4. Castle

  5. Hope

  6. Alive Tonight

  7. Already Gone

  8. Land of Broken Dreams

  9. Did It Really Happen

  10. Intro

  11. Sahara

  12. End of The World

Best Intentions Breathes Life Into Pop-Punk With Their New Single 'At The Ocean'

April 04, 2019

Pop-punk lovers, rejoice! There is a new band on the scene, and they will bring back so many memories of those glorious summers at Warped Tour, while making new ones of rocking out to their new single, ‘At The Ocean’.

 

Best Intentions originally formed in Philadelphia in 2016, by Matthew Kleinman. He then moved to Nashville a year later and started the band again, this time with a new lineup. Though they have elements of hard rock in their music, they definitely lean more to their pop punk stylings. Vocalist Tony Pietrafesa and guitarist Matthew Kleinman also produced, mixed, and mastered this single together, which shows even further the true talent this band has.

 

In ‘At The Ocean’, you can hear their influences like Simple Plan and blink-182 in the hooks and lyrics of the track. But there are also other comparisons to be made. I’m sure any fans of early All Time Low and Mayday Parade will likely hear similarities in this single, for instance.

 

‘At The Ocean’ is now available to stream on Spotify and the music video is up on Youtube. This band is definitely going places, so check them out now to hear the raw pop punk talent emanating from their track. Plus, their debut album is expected to drop summer of 2019, which I’m sure will be one you won’t want to miss out on.

 

Release Info

Artist Name: Best Intentions

Location: Nashville, TN

Release Name: Twisted

Release Date: Jan 04, 2019

Label: Independent

Producer: Matthew Kleinman & Tony Pietrafesa for Race Street Music Group

Musicians: Tony Pietrafesa : Vocals and Guitar

Mattew Kleinman : Guitar

Evan Aliquo : Bass

Jim Collet : Drums

https://www.facebook.com/BestIntentionsMusic/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7apCopwjfg00MkIDJvGjYw

https://www.instagram.com/bestintentionsmusic/

 

Track List:

  1. At The Ocean

Real Life Injustice Meets Catchy Rock Tunes In American High's 'U.N. Article 14'

April 04, 2019

 

American High is a ‘60s rock inspired band based out of Sacramento, California. Their goal is to write music and lyrics with dark themes that sound like happy, catchy tunes. They do this effortlessly in every track.

 

When discussing their band, they had this to say: “We’re 4 guys who love rock and roll and love songs and songwriting. We pay respect to brilliant artists that have gone before. But in our own way. Our songs are influenced by whatever bubbles up from the subconscious. We give equal weight to all ideas/hooks/harmonies, regardless of which decade they harken to.”

 

While some songs are definitely more reminiscent of ‘60s/‘70s rock music, like ‘U.N. Article 14’ and ‘Bunny’, there are other songs that lean more to their catchy punk rock vibes, such as ‘Cheye Calvo’ and ‘Second Sister’. Each and every track makes you feel as though you have been transported to a different time, where nothing but good vibes flow. But yet, they inject their own values and political beliefs seamlessly on top of it.

 

They discussed their process of songwriting, saying, “We think songs are more interesting when they can be seen in different ways. We shun the tired INTRO-CHORUS-INTRO-CHORUS-LEAD-CHORUS-EXIT blueprint. We prefer freeform songs. We tried to make each song completely unique. With a totally different sound for each. Weird chords with weird changes, weird blueprints, weird harmonies and backwards leads. Happy singers singing dark songs of love lost, the costs of constant war, and a scream into the night. WAKE UP!”

 

Their creativity shines throughout the entire album and makes their sound truly unique. It’s an album you’ll surely want to rock out to while thinking about the heavy meanings behind their tracks. That’s what makes it such a great album you need to listen to…now!

 

 

Release Info

Artist Name: American High

Location: Sacramento, CA

Release Name: U.N. Article 14

Release Date: 2019

Producer: American High produced the record. It was recorded and mixed by Joe Johnson of Pus Cavern Studios in Sacramento. 

Musicians: D.T. (rhythm guitar), E.S. (lead guitar), F.M. (bass), T.M. (drums)

https://soundcloud.com/john-johnson-831037652/sets/u-n-article-14

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozzyleePX7s

https://www.facebook.com/newSactoband/

 

Track List:

  1. Second Sister

  2. Cheye Calvo

  3. I Can’t Change

  4. Test Pilot

  5. Fairfield, Ca

  6. 1.17.61.

  7. U.N. Article 14

  8. Bunny

'Liars, Freaks & Fools' Takes Us Back To The 80's and 90's Guitar Rock Era We Forgot We Needed

April 04, 2019

Musician Ivan Beecroft is going back to his roots with his retrospective grunge/rock album, “Liars, Freaks & Fools”. This album is meant to show why Ivan first was inspired to create and play his own music to begin with. 

 

This is what Beecroft had to say about the creation of his album: “The music I am currently creating is…going back to my in rock and blues which is why I initially started playing in bands as I was interested in guitar rock from the ‘80s and ‘90s, it’s a very important transition from my earlier releases as it shows a more pub rock style that was typically around in Australia in the ‘80s as I really want to turn people back on to this type of music.”

 

It’s evident that he is going against the mainstream that is consistently played on the radio with with grunge-inspired sound that immediately takes you back to the late ‘80s-early ‘90s. Not only is he reminiscent of Nirvana and Soundgarden on these tracks, but there are moments it felt as though I was listening to Stone Temple Pilots or Puddle of Mudd.

 

His strong and gravelly tone is the perfect fit for his style of music, while his lyrics have far more depth than what is typically on the pop charts today. Songs like ‘Inequality’ and ‘Shattered Dreams’ really let his retro-grunge style shine through.

 

Ivan Beecroft is an artist we want, and need, to hear more from. This album is one you can easily put on repeat, especially if, like me, you’re missing those grunge-era days. “Liars, Freaks & Fools” will be released on May 11, 2019, so mark your calendars.

 

 

Release Info

Artist Name: Ivan Beecroft

Location: Burwood

Release Name: Liars, Freaks & Fools

Release Date: May 11, 2019

Label: Independent

Producer: Ivan Beecroft

Musicians: Ivan Beecroft (vocals, guitar, synth, drums, bass)

Styles: Retro/Rock, Grunge/Pop, Cynical/Rock, 

https://soundcloud.com/grapesofwrath-720450260/sets/liars-freaks-fools

https://ivanbeecroft.wordpress.com/

https://m.facebook.com/Ivanbeecroftmusic/

 

Track List:

  1. Inequality

  2. Deranged

  3. Life Goes On

  4. A4

  5. Shame On You

  6. Shattered Dreams

  7. The Gypsy Joker

  8. Rock This Night Away

  9. Bad Company

  10. Let It Go 

Versal Achieves Reaches New Heights With Self-Titled EP

April 04, 2019

 

Javier Velez, aka Versal, is a Houston-based composer who has had a dream for many years to create an album such as this. After postponing the creation of this ambient and new age album, he finally was able to dedicate nine months to compose the songs featured on his self-titled EP.

 

Before this, he had multiple professional commitments that kept him from pursuing his true dream, including work on several different films and documentaries in many different capacities. Now that he has created an album full of his own ideas, themes, and original compositions, his dream has come full circle.

 

Carrousel, for instance, had been “revolving in his head” since he was six years-old. The childlike emotions that come through when listening to this calming yet fun track immediately bring you back to adventures from childhood. While other tracks, like Eternal, have such beautiful notes emanating from the piano that you immediately feel at peace with one’s self.

 

Versal said about the EP, “This is my first release, and a dream long overdue for me. I have spent a lifetime involved in music, always in collaboration with others, which gave me little time to do this until now. I hope everyone enjoys this music as much as I enjoyed creating it. May all beings be happy!”

 

This is an album sure to bring you happiness, peace, and love just from listening to its gorgeous notes. It is now available to stream on Spotify, so make sure to give it a listen today!

 

 

Release Info

Artist Name: Javier Velez aka Versal

Location: Houston

Release Name: Versal

Release Date: Mar 03, 2019

Label: Independent

Producer: Javier Velez

Musicians: Javier Velez, aka Versal

https://www.facebook.com/Versal-Music-2259540790751384/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL7Gkm9n94CGtKVoBhE0S9g?view_as=subscriber

 

Track List:

  1. Eternal

  2. Flamenco en Culebra

  3. Dawn

  4. Carrousel

  5. All Together

  6. El Camino a Montserrat 

Post Death Soundtrack Gives Us A Gut Punch With 'It Will Come Out Of Nowhere'

March 06, 2019

Back when Post Death Soundtrack originally formed in Calgary and had their debut album released in 2008, Music As Weaponry, their main focus in their music was the hypocrisies of “government, religion, and mainstream ideology” and attacking it with “blind rage”.  Since then, they have had quite the musical journey as well as personal obstacles they’ve overcome.

 

After their wild, in-your-face debut album, Jon Ireson joined the band and eventually would become the second half of this musical duo.  Their follow-up album was shelved for 3 years due to many things life threw at them such as relocations, break ups, and unfortunately, a bout of cancer.  But it was eventually released as a concept album under the title, The Unlearning Curve. 

 

Now, they have released their latest industrial, psychedelic alternative musical trip that you are not soon to forget.  They have managed to bring so many different elements that you would never think to put together, and have perfected the art of their process on top of it.

 

While they have many influences ranging from David Bowie’s techno-age music to Underworld, they have found new and surprising ways to present their own genre of music.  Vocalist Steve Moore has incredible range and at times is reminiscent of Jared Leto’s breathy vocals in songs like ‘Piercing The Veil’ and ‘Pathless Land’ and then flips a switch to have pure anger emanate from his vocals on other tracks such as ‘Bridge Burner’.  Even with that, he still brings his own flavor to each and every track, and with Jon Ireson’s producing abilities shining in every song, they are bound to catch the attention of many listeners.

 

Post Death Soundtrack has released It Will Come Out Of Nowhere on a limited release 2LP vinyl with custom slipcase and it is also available on all major streaming platforms.  This is an album we’ll surely be talking about for ages.

 

 

 

Release Info

Artist Name: Post Death Soundtrack

Location: Vancouver, BC Canada

Release Name: It Will Come Out Of Nowhere

Release Date: Feb 15, 2019

Label: Independent

Mastered for vinyl by: Tom Baker Mastering

Musicians: Steve Moore

Jon Ireson

Genres: Electro-Industrial, Alternative, Doom, Metal, Experimental Rock, Progressive Rock, Dark Ambient

Credits: All artwork and photos by Colin Everall

 

Track List:

It Will Come Out Of Nowhere album

  1. Chosen Sons

  2. Crumbs

  3. Dark Matter

  4. Expect No Sympathy

  5. Ripples In The Living Dream

  6. Ramona Hills

  7. Benediction

  8. Piercing The Veil

  9. Fallout

  10. Pathless Land

  11. Bridge Burner

https://www.facebook.com/postdeathsoundtrack/ 

Lillimure Blew Us Away With Her Smooth Vocal Stylings On Her New Single 'WDYTM'

February 04, 2019

Lillimure is a 19 year-old singer/songwriter from Westchester, New York who has an incredibly unique and fun sound that immediately draws you in.  Her latest release is the single, WDYTM, which stands for “Why Do You Tease Me”, and beautifully showcases her alternative folk and soul pop stylings.

 

When discussing her single, WDYTM, she said: "I'm particularly excited to show this new material because it's a little different from the music I have out now, and I'm excited to share my growth with the world. "WDYTM" stands for "Why do you tease me" and it's about the realization that someone you used to idealize is not all that they seem to be. It's about growing from disappointments and learning to let things happen in their own time.”  

 

She went on to say that, “This single is a taste of an album that I plan on releasing in June. I'm very excited about my new material because I truly feel that it represents me and where I am now.”  She definitely creates an intimate listening experience for her fans, new and old, and instantly makes you feel her emotions through each and every lyric.

 

Her voice is reminiscent of Norah Jones mixed with Regina Spektor at certain points in the song.  Lillimure has said that she hopes her music can “make people laugh, cry, and feel everything in between”.  And if this first single off her upcoming album is any indication, her mission will be accomplished almost instantaneously.  I know I will be anxiously waiting to hear more from this incredible artist.

 

Release Info

Artist Name: Lillimure

Location: Westchester, NY

Release Name: WDYTM

Release Date: Jan 08, 2019

Label: Independent

Producer: Jake Lasz

Musicians: Henry Mermer: Drums

Sam Caldwell: Keys

Josh Bean: Bass

https://www.lillimure.com/

Acidic Base Is The Artist To Watch In The Electro Genre

February 04, 2019

Acidic Base is an Electronic artist based out of Chicago and at the helm is Siddharth Goswami, a 12 year-old musician who is currently in the eighth grade and is already making a name for himself in the music industry.  He started taking piano lessons at the age of 6 with his early influences being the likes of Elton John, Billy Joel and Coldplay, all of which you can hear in certain aspects of his debut album, Purple Skies.

 

He eventually expanded his musical interests and abilities with stringed instruments, including violin and electric guitar which he learned by ear.  On this album you can hear not only his early influences but the perfect blend of the EDM and progressive house styles that he has crafted along with his improvisational melody lines.

 

Sid went on to explain further his methods and his craft: “I believe my music tends to be in the progressive house genre of electronic music.  My main inspiration in this genre are deadmau5 and Eric Prydz, though I follow several other artists in various genres.  Composing music that tells a story or one that can take the user through a theme is my passion.  I see myself working more on complex and dynamic themes in some of my next few releases.”

 

The way he has composed his electronic/EDM/house music is incredible in itself, but what is truly astounding is the fact he is able to tell a complete story through his music at such a young age.  It shows true artistry, especially on a track like Chernobyl, that tells the story from start to finish of the Chernobyl disaster within the 8+ min piece.  

 

When discussing his debut album, he had this to say: "This is my debut album, and it combines many global influences and themes.  The album is a mix of various styles of music culminating into Electronic format. You will observe my love for improvisation directly in numbers like Halcyon and Mountain Face.  My musical work Chernobyl is a 2 part composition as a tribute to Chernobyl disaster. The 8 min + piece tries to tell the story from the start of the event to the aftermath followed by massive radioactive mutations. While composing based on themes, I have tried to adapt it to Electronic EDM styles.  Blurred is more traditional to the typical EDM styles. However, in some parts it is a very light song, while in others it is pulsing with deep bass.”

 

With Siddharth Goswami already making waves with his debut album at 12 years-old, the sky is the limit for this young musician.  Remember the name Acidic Base, because you will be hearing it everywhere soon.

 

 

Release Info

Artist Name: Acidic Base

Location: Naperville, IL

Release Name: Purple Skies

Release Date: Dec 11, 2018

Label: Independent

Producer: Acidic Base

Musicians: Siddharth Goswami: Music Composition and production

https://www.facebook.com/acidicbasemusic

 

Track List:

  1. Purple Skies

  2. Halcyon

  3. Chernobyl

  4. Blurred

  5. Omnidirectional Hyperjet

  6. Mountain Face

  7. Borealis

Peter Senior Shows Us His Many Sides In 'On The Edge'

January 30, 2019

Peter Senior is a singer/songwriter hailing from Sydney, Australia and is taking his country by storm with his full-length album, On The Edge.  He brings his silky smooth voice and incredibly fun take on Motown-inspired music to each and every song on this record.  But he doesn’t stop there.  On certain tracks, you’ll hear more of a country inspiration while others may have a more modern soft rock vibe to it, making his sound inherently unique.

 

All of that is thanks to his eclectic music tastes that spans from his past and present influences and you can hear them all throughout this album.  Peter, himself, comes from a musical family and has had a deep love for music and performing from an early age.  Now, On The Edge has already had success since its initial release on September 7th, 2018 which began with “Cool Ride”.  It was the first release of the album that debuted at number two on the Australian iTunes Charts in the country genre.  Then, “Baby I Love You”, which is a high-energy Motown-like track, debuted at number 8 on the Australian iTunes Characters in the pop genre.

 

He has the incredible ability to transport you to a different time in tracks like “Baby I Love You” and “Little Lovin’” with his Motown influences shining through.  But Peter Senior is also a musical chameleon with the different genres he is able to emulate throughout one album.

 

With Senior gaining traction in Australia, as well as internationally, this is only the beginning of what is surely going to be a successful music career.  So make sure to have this album on your radar because it will have you dancing in no time.

 

Release Info

Artist Name: Peter Senior

Location: Sydney, Australia

Release Name: On The Edge Album

Release Date: Sep 7, 2018

Label: Mandalong Records

Producer: Peter Senior

Musicians: Peter Senior : Vocals, Piano, percussion and keyboards

Kayne Butler : Drums, percussion

Harry Gusman : Guitars

Matt Keegan : Bari Sax

Studio Pros : Horns, Bass, Guitar, backing, vocals, pedal steel, dobro

https://www.petersenior.com.au/

 

Track List:

ON THE EDGE album

  1. Little Lovin’

  2. Baby I Love You

  3. Doin' OK

  4. Soft Rain

  5. The Edge

  6. Savour The Moment

  7. I Wonder

  8. Cool Ride

  9. Is This Real

  10. Got a Picture

  11. Savour the moment (reprise)

Bobbie Morrone Proves To Be A Masterful Storyteller On 'Lonely Street'

January 30, 2019

Singer-songwriters who know their craft and execute their vision exceptionally well manage to make a song’s simplicity shine with the way they tell a story through their music.  A perfect example of that is Bobbie Morrone with his new album, Lonely St.  With influences ranging from Joe Jackson to John Mayer to Lake Street Dive, it’s no wonder he has masterfully blended his bluesy influences with his crooner-like voice rather seamlessly.

 

Bobbie Morrone first hit the music scene back in 2007 and has continued his career in the industry ever since.  He’s also gained two other musicians with similar blues influences to enhance his sound since then and is now ready to show what they’ve been working on with this new album, Lonely St., that releases on February 4th, 2019.

 

Lonely St. exemplifies Morrone’s incredible musical abilities all throughout, as does his fellow musicians Adam Skinner on bass and Isaac Vining on drums.  When discussing the making of this album, Bobbie Morrone had this to say about it:

 

"This record took a long time to bring to life (almost three years). In that time, inspiration was extracted from the growth and patience learned while pushing through a personal fight between material and passion. These songs are a very important part of that journey and each is it's own representation of how necessary it is to be true to yourself and your calling.”

 

You can hear the passion he has for music in each and every song, and in “I Can’t Fall That Far”, which is a personal favorite of mine, you can hear the emotion pouring out of him in every note.  The lead single “Whiskey and Water” completely showcases his love of pop/blues and makes you understand the John Mayer comparisons that much more.

 

I could break down each and every way this album is the true embodiment of modern blues at its best, but it would be better for you to listen to it yourself to truly understand.  Believe me, this is an album you don’t want to miss out on.

 

 

Release Info

Artist Name: Bobbie Morrone

Location: Indianapolis, IN

Release Name: Lonely St.

Release Date: Feb 4, 2019

Label: Independent

Producer: Bobbie Morrone/Jon Class

Musicians: Bobbie Morrone: Vocals, Guitar

Isaac Vining: Drums/Percussion

Adam Skinner: Bass Guitar

Styles: Pop, Blues, Soul

Similiar To: John Mayer, Lake Street Dive, Bahamas, Allen Stone, Tedeschi Trucks Band, Nathaniel Rateliff, Jason Mraz

 

Track List: 

  1. Behind the Walls

  2. Get By

  3. Whiskey and Water

  4. One of a Kind

  5. Holding On

  6. I Can't Fall That Far (Intro)

  7. I Can't Fall That Far

  8. Walk Away

  9. I've Got It

  10. Simple Things

  11. Jam

  12. Lonely St.

http://facebook.com/bobbiemorrone 

Astral Cloud Ashes Puts A Dystopian World Into Perspective With 'Get Out To New York'

December 19, 2018

The further along we find ourselves in our world's timeline, the stranger things get.  Especially in light of the constantly evolving political landscape in the U.S.  I can only say that from such adversity there has been some great music hitting the airwaves in response.  One example is a new single we came across from Astral Cloud Ashes entitled Get Out To New York.

Antony Walker is the creative mind behind Astral Cloud Ashes, a 100% studio project that came together in 2016.  The inspiration for the single was derived from Ayn Rand's futuristic novel Anthem,  It is set in New York in the year 2020, and it tells the story of a man who is constantly told to go out to New York in pursuit of success.  Walker takes this story and manages to make it incredibly relevant to the world as we currently know it.  He had this to say about the single:

"The song is called  'Get Out to New York'
 but it could have just have easily been called 'Ode to Ayn Rand'"  

"The lyric "I can hear a scared Ayn Rand" references how I imagine Ayn might react to 21st century evening TV news broadcasts, she was such a dissident, I think she'd be hiding behind the sofa to be honest."

 

Get Out To New York is a thought provoking song that presents as a bit of a contradiction to itself.  It is a very catchy, uptempo song but the subject matter is a bit dark and relatable in a time where we need to understand what is going on around us.  Antony Walker has delivered a track with intelligent songwriting in a fun package, with a depth of meaning.  Very nicely done.

 

artist: Astral Cloud Ashes
song: Get Out to New York
release date: Dec 4/18

 

mix info:   "Get Out to New York"

"Get Out to New York" was written/recorded in Jersey and mixed with Chris Hughes at Oscillate Studios in Knutsford (near Manchester) in late 2018.

 

Check out the song here:

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PnePuLn_jb4 


 

Todd Warner Moore Delivers A Beautiful Collection of Stories With 'Spark'

December 17, 2018

I'll have to admit that when it comes to the various genres within rock, folk/Americana was never my go to style.  Recently, though, I have been reminded how compelling and thoroughly enjoyable good storytelling through music can be.  Todd Warner Moore delivered one of those reminders to me with his recent release Spark, released on October31, 2018. 

Originally from Kansas, Moore has lived quite an eclectic and musically driven life.  Though his style over the years has been mostly acoustically driven, he seems to have hit his stride with this new record that has more of a folk/Americana feel with some 70's singer-songwriter vibe.   He has played to college crowds, at tea houses in Budapest, Hungary, and lived the last eight years on Lamma Island in Hong Kong.  It is readily apparent that living a life of varied atmosphere and experiences helped to shape this artists' style and creativity.   Moore had this to say about the album:

"Spark is, both lyrically and musically, a celebration of the canon of magnificent music and sublime songwriting I have heard over the years. I have painstakingly sculpted these songs with exceptionally talented and intuitive musicians, creating an album that follows its own self-contained universe of tales, confessional tones, and ebullience. I feel that it is the album I have always been striving to create."

The great thing about this record are the places it takes you to.  I felt transported to a time when storytelling in music was the most important skill a musician could have.  The lyrics and music on the entire album were quite beautiful, even when the songs were not telling happy tales.  The title track, Spark, is a song that seems to talk about struggle and finding your way back from it.  It definitely had a Mumford & Sons feel to it.  One of my favorites on the album is Do You Really Know?  These lyrics really struck a chord: "And do you really know yourself that well?  Enough to contemplate another’s hell? To see beyond a cloud of petty needs? To intervene before the other bleeds?"  That is a small example of what a talented lyricist Moore is.   A great treat on this album is the bonus track, The Lens.  It features Moore's band Tea Thieves from his days in Hungary, and the track had me sitting at an outdoor cafe in Budapest singing along with the locals. 

I could really go down the line with every track on this album and find great things to say.  I love a good singer-songwriter, and when you add splashes of folk, Americana and indie sensibilities you have fantastic record that won't leave your rotation any time soon.

Release Info
Artist Name: Todd Warner Moore
Release Name: Spark
Release Date: Oct 31, 2018
Label: Independent
Producer: Oliver Wagner

Track List:
1.    Prologue    
2.    Spark    
3.    Gift    
4.    Noodles    
5.    Do You Really Know?    
6.    Drift Awake    
7.    Mess    
8.    Gem    
9.    In the Water
10.    Right Inside This Room    
11.    Crashing Down    
12.    Already There    
13.    Bird's Eye View
14.    Epilogue    
15.    The Lens (Bonus Track) [with Tea Thieves, Live from a Garden in Wales]

Musicians:
Todd Warner Moore: Vocal: Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar
Leah Hart: Backing Vocal
Michael Kentish: Backing Vocal
Jamie Howell: Electric Guitar
Roberto Diana: Dobro, Steel Guitar
William Stewart: Violin, Viola
Daniel González: Cello
Davide Severi: Piano
Issar Shulman: Double Bass
Larry Salzman: Percussion
Styles: Singer/Songwriter/Folk/Americana/Eclectic Indie
Similar To: Van Morrison, M. Ward, Andrew Bird, Bob Dylan
 

https://toddwarnermoore.com/home

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLMa8GbjgItXYLrkKUCoKjDFyFNMRnnzP_ 

Paul Maged Sends A Powerul Message With 'The Resistance'

December 14, 2018

Some things are important enough to put other things on hold.  That is why alternative rocker Paul Maged held off on releasing the third EP in a trilogy and instead released The Resistance, a powerful political single/video.  In the current climate in the U.S., there is no better time for this outcry.

Paul Maged is known as a socially conscious rocker, a moniker made clear and well-suited on this track.  Though a departure from Maged's usual offerings, The Resistance was born out of an urgent need to tell this story at a time when it is most relevant and necessary.  Maged had this to say about the single:

 “We changed our plans due to the current political climate and feel like this is an extremely relevant and important song that needs to stand on its own.”

The accompanying video to the song is nothing short of a gut punch.  There are scenes from political protests that have erupted since the 2016 election, shots of the President elect with various dictators, white nationalist rallies and much more.  These are the scenes that have held a nation captive for two years.  What Paul Maged has done with The Resistance is, in effect, issued a call to arms.  One of the most powerful lyrics in this song is "Kill The Other Side."  I think that speaks volumes about the dynamic between the two major political parties involved and how intensely oppositional they have become.  Diplomacy has left the building, folks.  This is the message that is readily conveyed in the video/song.

The Resistance is produced by Maged's longtime producer, Multi-Platinum Producer Sean Gill of The Passengerz. 

Release Info
Artist Name: Paul Maged
Location: New York City
Release Name: The Resistance
Release Date: Nov 05, 2018
Label: Independent
Producer: Sean Gill
Track List: 1. The Resistance
Musicians: Paul Maged
Styles: Rock, Punk, Alternative
Similar To: Greenday, Pearl Jam, R.E.M, Soundgarden, Foo Fighters, Billy Joel

Be sure to check out the video for The Resistance here:

https://youtu.be/fkugKpWYFA4

http://www.paulmaged.com/

Float Here Forever Gives Us Pure Punk Style Wrapped In Alternative Rock With Their Ucoming Album 'Tour The Ruins'

December 13, 2018

by Aly Avina

Call me a sucker for nostalgia, but I love a good punk band.   There are not nearly enough young bands out there trying to capture the spirit of punk music, but even fewer doing it with an alternative rock edge.  Thankfully, Float Here Forever is an up and coming band from Michigan that have done just that on their upcoming album Tour The Ruins, set for release on January 1, 2019.

Float Here Forever is a 3-piece alternative rock band from Detroit, Michigan consisting of Darrell Bazian, Nick Marko and Sam Easterbrook.  Collectively they have been writing and composing music for years for bands they have previously been a part of, with much deserved recognition.  They have created a guitar driven, lyrically dynamic album with Tour The Ruins, which was recorded by Grammy winner Dave Feeny (White Stripes, Loretta Lynn) and mastered by Alan Douches (Brand New, Cloud Nothings and Converge).  What I enjoyed most about this record was how it flowed effortlessly from alternative to classic to punk rock tones from one track to the next.  On The In Between the guitar riffs are lightning fast and purely punk, with stellar drums rounding out the track.  Yet on Slipping Away there is a much more true alternative vibe, with a style more reminiscent of The Foo Fighters.  Float Here Forever tackles all of it with experience, skill and pure adrenaline in their corner. 

I mentioned the lyrics being dynamic up above, and that is very evident on the lead single Wasps.  Just to give you a taste:

To live as a drone,

To fight for the colony.

To balance the wheel of social mundanery.

I'd rather deter than to feed my anxiety.

Is the problem with you, or is it with me?

Float Here Forever's upcoming album Tour The Ruins is a wild ride of the best kind.  It is the definitive gauge to which other alternative punk acts should be measured.  Keep track of this band, folks.  They are soon to be on everybody's radar.

https://floathereforever.com

https://www.facebook.com/floathereforever/

'Love In The Apocalypse' by Darien Martus Is Acomplished Storytelling Come To Life

December 06, 2018

When you spend your days reviewing a LOT of music, when something special comes along it definitely stands out.  Darien Martus provides one such standout with his upcoming release Love In The Apocalypse, due out 12/14/18.  Before we talk about the album, let me tell you a little about this accomplished artist.

Darien Martus, ASCAP, is a voting member of The Recording Academy with two albums listed for Grammy consideration.  His album Pockets charted #1 on Amazon Hot Releases in Folk Rock in 2014, with his subsequent album Waldenwild charting at #5 on Amazon Hot Releases in Folk Rock in 2017.  When I referred to Darien as accomplished, it may be a bit of an understatement.  He has a BA in Music from Oakland University, has worked in theatre, film and television and has achieved a Masters in Music at the University of Redlands.  He also has a long list of awards to his credit.  Darien has mastered his craft, and thankfully shares it with us on Love In The Apocalypse.

The heart of this album is in its storytelling.  Each track is emotional and beautifully written.  It's a record that touches on love, pain, betrayal, sadness, and even on the current and future state of the world we live in.  Vocally,  Darien has a great tone with a slight rasp and lots of power.  When you have someone that is a technically good vocalist you can lose a little bit in the translation emotionally.   This is not so in Darien's case.  Standout tracks for me are Waiting For The Rain and Un Rap.  I lean toward the emotional tracks, and these two definitely struck a chord with me.  Overall, Love In The Apocalypse is an impressive pop album with elements of folk storytelling.   I highly recommend it to our readers.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=darien+martus

https://www.facebook.com/darienmartus/

DannyDosha Takes Us On A Genre Blending Journey With His New Single 'Kelsey 2'

December 04, 2018

Growing up in a musical family is an excellent starting point for any musician.  Getting exposure to a hip hop producer and mix engineer from his uncle and cousin respectively meant that DannyDosha spent a lot of time in the studio from the time that most kids are worried about when their next recess is happening.  To be more exact, Daniel Maurice Barry (DannyDosha) started making hip hop records at the age of nine.  Since then he has been honing his craft and incorporating elements of jazz, blues and rock into his skillset, and the result is a sound that is fresh and unlike anything you can find on mainstream radio.

On October 30, 2018 DannyDosha released a new single titled Kelsey 2, a followup to part one of a three part series inspired by his admiration for cello player Kelsey Lu.  The first track from the series was simply called Kelsey, a song that had such a cool vibe to it I won't dare try to explain it here.  Your ears deserve to check it out for themselves.  The latest installment, Kelsey 2, dives into that great blend of jazz, r&b and rock that is both smooth and guitar driven.  I love Danny's tone on this track.  It has a melancholic/haunting quality to it, and guest vocals by Danielle Lee really brings that unique sound home.  I find myself hoping that Kelsey 3 will follow  quickly behind this single.

Release Info
Artist Name: DannyDosha
Release Name: Kelsey 2
Release Date: Oct 30, 2018
Label: Independent
Producer: Katt

Musicians:
DannyDosha: Guitar and Vocals
Danielle Lee: Vocals
Darwin Winston:808 and Keyboard
Katt: Drums and Mix

https://www.facebook.com/DannyDosha

https://www.instagram.com/dannydosha/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCumBT7YUeDrMuPjqxe1cKvg

Solaya Love Is Mesmerizing On Her Upcoming Release 'Illustrious'

November 21, 2018

I might age myself when I write this, but what the hell.  Do you remember when you heard Sade for the first time?  Her silky voice just caressed your ears so perfectly and you played her on repeat whenever you wanted to mellow out and just feel good.  That same feeling happened to me recently when I took my first listen to Solaya Love's new record Illustrious

Solaya Love is a Canadian singer-songwriter who has collaborated with producer/DJ John Atonic on this jazzy, pop/EDM record, and it has so many great elements it's hard to know where to begin.  Love had cultivated musical aspirations early on in her life.  Her earliest memories from childhood are tied to music, in fact.  This quote sums it up: “Since I was a child, in my sleep, I would have dreams of hearing music. The next step was knowing music theory to write it all down when I woke up.”   She now boasts a wide array of influences and styles such as Rock, Reggae, Roots, Hip-Hop, Blues, Metal, Pop, World Music, and EDM. Inspired by artists: Tove Lo, Becky Hill, Ariana Grande, Jessie J. Fergie, Madonna, Lady Gaga, John Butler Trio, Jimi Hendrix Tash Sultana, Black Sabbath.  Illustrious certainly showcases a blend of these styles seeminglessly, and Solaya Love and John Atonic work so well together.  

Vocally Love is smooth, at times raw and nasty with incredible range.  Each track on the record brings something new to the table and never fails to make you want to move in some way.  The lead single Let It Go starts out like a sultry ballad but quickly picks up tempo for a great dance track, while Space In Between is atmospheric from the jump and amps up throughout the track.  Another favorite is the aptly titled Sexy Silk that more than lives up to its name.  There honestly is not a bad track on the entire album, and Solaya Love has firmly landed herself on our radar.

Artist Name: SOLAYA LOVE
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Release Name: ILLUSTRIOUS
Release Date: Nov 29, 2018
Producer: John Atonic


Track List:
1. Let It Go
2. I Like Music
3. Never Waken
4. Feels So Good
5. Pushing The Air
6. All Or Nothing
7. All I Wanted
8. Zen UP
9. Space In Between
10. Sexy Silk
11. Never Waken - Live Dance Mix

 

Musicians:
Solaya Love - vocals, John Atonic - live producer/DJ mixing
Styles: Vocal Based POP/EDM
Similar To: Aluna George, Banks, Nao, Ellie Goulding, Tove Lo, Nora En Pure

https://solayalove.com/

https://www.facebook.com/SolayaLoveMusic

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiznyRETNkb4xU6cEEJ3hMA

The Goldwyn Experiment Mixes Multiple Genres Fluidly With 'Avenue B'

November 19, 2018

So....wow.  To anyone who is a regular reader of On Request, you will be well aware that artists who can blend multiple genres are among our favorite to review.  That appreciation goes even further when an artist steps up and combines elements that no one would imagine could so perfectly fit together.  The Goldwyn Experiment does this and so much more on their recent release 'Avenue B.'

The man behind The Goldwyn Experiment is Goldwyn Thandrayen, an artist born on the Island of Mauritius whose life and travels have taken him all over and expanded his musical repertoire.  At the age of 16 he started playing guitar and quickly formed a band, playing classics from some of the greatest rock bands such as Zeppelin, Iron Maiden, Guns N Roses, and so on.   While these bands were household names most of the world over, they weren't so popular in Mauritius.  After graduating high school Goldwyn headed over to the U.S. and attended a jazz establishment in Florida.  This set him on a new musical path, one that he has incorporated effortlessly into his music ever since.  He has played Death Metal, Blues and even in a Wedding band before  forming The Goldwyn Experiment in 2011.  Goldwyn is also known for his role as guitarist in Montreal rock and roll band Psychocide, who also released an album last year.

When an artist has the musical range that Goldwyn has amassed throughout the various projects in his life, it really is no surprise that he can deliver a solid and thoroughly enjoyable project like 'Avenue B.'  The lead single off the record is Sad Boy Summer, a track that combines elements of rap, rock and jazz which results in a song that will be played on repeat by the listener to soak all those elements in.  The track is upbeat with great guitar riffs, and the rap component was clean and crisp with guest vocals provided by Tyler Guest and Tommy Atomic DiRocco.  This is just one of the great tracks on this 'Avenue B.'  Fast Response is definitely my favorite track on the album.  It is a pure progressive rock track and I can hear influences of Serj Tankian and Frank Zappa on this track.  The true artistry that I mentioned above when it comes to Goldwyn shows itself on track number 6, which is simply titled Interlude, which is a beautiful jazz piano piece sandwiched in the middle of songs rich in other genres.  That moment in the record is a wonderful unexpected surprise.  Do yourself a favor and check out Whale Jail as well, as it has a flavor all its own.  'Avenue B' is the type of record that we wish more artists were putting out.  It pushes boundaries and will be in our forever rotation.

Release Info
Artist Name The Goldwyn Experiment
Location Montreal, Canada 
Release Name Avenue B
Release Date 11/02/2018
Label Stash
Producer Goldwyn Thandrayen 


Track List
1. Prologue
2. Vodka Tea
3. Bag of Nails
4. Sad Boy Summer
5. Fast Response
6. Interlude
7. Whale Jail
8. Arrows
9. Let it Snow
10. Queen Of The Night
11. Epilogue 


Musicians
Goldwyn Thandrayen : Vocals, Guitars, Keys
Art Hirahara - Piano, Keys
Evan Gregor - Upright Bass
Kenny Grohowski - Drums
Featured Vocals/Rapper on Sad Boy Summer Tyler Guest and Tommy Atomic DiRocco Guest Vocals - Wilson Li 
Styles Rock, Progressive, Jazz, Pop 

http://www.thegoldwynexperiment.com/

https://www.facebook.com/TheGoldwynExperiment

https://twitter.com/goldwynth

Geoff Gibbons Breathes Fresh Life Into The Americana/Alt-Folk Genre With His New Single 'Fall Girl'

October 30, 2018

There was something very special about the 70's rock/southern rock era.  Whether you were a fan of straight up rock, country or southern soul there was something out there for you to enjoy.  In the present day the lines between country and rock are very clearly defined, with country venturing closer to pop than ever.   When an artist comes along that can take us back to that moment in time when artists like The Eagles, Tom Petty and The Byrds were creating the soundtrack to our summers, it's something to latch onto.  Geoff Gibbons has taken us there effortlessly with his new single 'Fall Girl.'

Hailing from Vancouver, BC Canada, Geoff has spent his life working in music in various capacities.  Aside from being a full-time working musician he also has producing and engineering credits on his list of accolades.  He has also written songs for television shows like Higher Ground and the adult comedy series The Mr. Dink Show.  He went on to compose and score songs for the motion picture 'Wolf Moon (aka Dark Moon Rising).  While helping others complete their artistic visions was rewarding, Geoff got back to doing what he loved best; making music of his own.  With the help of co-producer John McArthur Ellis, the two narrowed down lots of material to 12 songs that made up 2017's 'Buffalo Hotel.'  He follows this up now with his new single 'Fall Girl.'

Take a listen for yourself to 'Fall Girl' here.

This track is very reminiscent of Jackson Browne stylistically, and I could feel influences of both Van Morrison and James Taylor making their way into the song both vocally and lyrically.  It's clear that Geoff Gibbons is passionate about affecting people with his music.  The song feels intimate yet upbeat, and it manages to feel both fresh and like a throwback at the same time.  'Fall Girl' is the perfect ode to a season we have all been longing for.

Be sure to check out Geoff Gibbons on his social sites to keep track of future releases and events.

https://www.geoffgibbons.com/

https://www.facebook.com/geoffgibbonsmusic/

https://www.instagram.com/geoffgibbonsmusic/

https://twitter.com/GeoffGibbons

Jude Scofield Delivers A Raw, Emotional Debut Single With 'Don't Let Me Die Alone'

October 30, 2018

Australian singer-songwriter Jude Scofield began developing his love of music at a very early age.  After receiving a guitar from his father at age 6 Jude started on a journey that included singing and playing guitar, forming a band while in high school, working with wedding bands and gigging as a professional solo artist.  He also went on to do sound mixing and engineering for other musicians.  In 2016 he decided to learn piano and did so with the help of YouTube tutorials.  From what I can tell it seems like Jude Scofield is someone who focuses on what he wants and goes for it. 

In 2017 Jude went through a serious heartbreak, one that resulted in him putting his emotions down on paper. The resulting single 'Don't Let Me Die Alone' is a straightforward yet pleading song that tells the story of heartbreak from someone who has walked that walk.  There is an urgency in Jude's voice with each lyric, and the pain is evident.  This is the first song the artist has written on the piano, and a solid one for his debut.  Vocally, Jude has a great low register that very much lends to the pain expressed in this song.  I can definitely hear shades of crooners like Sam Smith and Leonard Cohen in Jude's vocals.  The accompanying music video for 'Don't Let Me Die Alone' puts all the pain and longing of heartbreak out on display, and is a great counterpart to the single.  You can view the video here.

https://www.judescofield.com/

https://www.facebook.com/heyjudescofield

https://twitter.com/heyjudescofield

Lord Sonny The Unifier Comes Out Swinging With 'Right In Your I'

October 29, 2018

For years now rock fans have been clamoring for a resurgence in the genre.  I'm not talking about new rock, but rather a throwback to a time when artists were creating the music we now refer to as "classic."  We have had some acts come along recently to pay homage to the greats from the rock era, and one such act is 'Lord Sonny The Unifier.  They not only do justice to rock's classic artists, but they bring their own sound to the mix to create something we now know we've been missing.  They have just released their full length album 'Final Notice,' a record that has some great interwoven messages to go with each intricately crafted track.

Lord Sonny The Unifier is a Brooklyn based band led by Gregory Jiritano.  After a fire burned down his studio in 2015 it was either time to quit or regroup.  He chose the latter and put together a skilled group of musicians to form Lord Sonny The Unifier and finished the album he had been working on, ultimately titled 'Final Notice.'  The album title is a reference to the warnings we get in life before all hope has run out and those in power are coming to collect all debts.  But what do we do when that happens, and what are we doing now to stand up for ourselves?  I think this is the point Jiritano is trying to get across, especially in songs like the lead single 'Right In Your I.'  He had this to say about the single and accompanying video:

"As the Laws created by those in power continue to favor only those in power, the ones left behind grow exponentially more desperate, hopeless and angry. We can only hope for justice to be equally distributed on those who create unjust laws and those who carry them out as on those who break them. This is a video calling for the injustices to be rectified."

Check  out the video for 'Right In Your I' here.

The above mentioned title track is a song for anyone who has reached the point where they have taken all that they can and now its time to fight back.  This is a sentiment that I think is very relatable these days.  Other standout tracks on the album include 'Til We Change,' 'Your Sweet Daydreams' and 'All The Signs.  Musically 'Final Notice' took us to the days of David Bowie's 'Space Oddity' with a touch of The Clash and 70's Beatles flare.  It is definitely a great change of pace from what has been passing as rock music in recent years.  I thoroughly enjoyed the entire album and have no doubt you will, too.


Artist Name: Lord Sonny the Unifier
Release Name:  Final Notice/Right In Your I
Release Date 10/26/2018
Producer Greg Jiritano 


Track List
1. Right in Your I 2. The Starman 3. Till We Changes Things 4. Satellite Eye 5. First in Space 6. Your Sweet Daydreams 7.Love is on the Line 8. All the Signs 9. The All New Knownothings 10.March Forth 11. El Ray 

 

Musicians
Greg Jiritano: Vocals and Guitar
Tyler Wood: Keyboards, Percussion and Backing Vocals
Derek Nievergelt: Bass
Carmine Covelli: Drums, Percussion and Backing Vocals
Amy Gordon: Backing Vocals 

http://www.lordsonnytheunifier.com/

https://www.facebook.com/lordsonnytheunifier/ 

https://twitter.com/LUnifier

Midwest Soul XChange Bring Renewed Awareness To The Flint Water Crisis With Their New Rock Opera 'Weakened At The Asylum'

October 29, 2018

In today's climate it is important to speak out against injustice, and to not let unspeakable tragedies fade out of the public eye simply because new tragedies pop up every day.  So what can be done?  If you're an artist you can put your heart and soul into something to be shared with others who are willing to listen.  This is what Nate Cherrier and Ryan Summers have done with their rock opera 'Weakened At The Asylum,' which is based on the Flint, MI water crisis. 

Both huge fans of classic rock while growing up in Wisconsin, Nate and Ryan never lost their passion for those songs that shaped their youth.  In 2015, even though now they were living 1800 miles apart, they launched the Midwest Soul XChange as a way to continue the legacy of making great music that they could pour their souls into.  They released their debut album 'New American Century' in 2015 to critical acclaim and while most artists might rest on that success for a bit, Nate and Ryan already had their sites set on something more.  They wanted to create a record that truly meant something.  After searching through old song catalogs, doing re-writes and writing new compositions it was clear that the duo had found their vision.  The result is a 40-minute rock opera titled 'Weakened At The Asylum.'   The duo had this to say about bringing this project to light:

"Despite all the turmoil in both a personal and global sense, our sophomore release “Weakened at the Asylum” is finally ready to be unveiled.  We went all out for this crafting a full-fledged “rock opera”. The story for this album centers around the water crisis in Flint, MI, and follows the lives of several fictional characters as they navigate through unspeakable tragedy. Some of the songs have a very “mythic” quality to them. But enough rapping about the intellectual side of things...We feel that the music  is some of the best we’ve every written and recorded!  Like our debut release, all the recording, mixing, mastering was handled in a DIY fashion with Prof Summers spending many a long night mixing in his project studio."

This album follows a fictional cast of characters who are dealing with the Flint, Michigan water crisis, and while the subject matter is very real and tragic it is handled with great care and earnest storytelling.  Like the rock operas of the past 'Weakened At The Asylum' delves into our humanity and urges us to seek answers.....and justice.  The water crisis in Flint is widely known, yet as tragedy after tragedy occur in our country it has fallen to the wayside in the media.  When artists like Nate Cherrier and Ryan Summers put together an album such as 'Weakened At The Asylum' to remind us of the unspeakable injustices committed in Flint, we should all take notice and listen. 

 

We strongly encourage our readers to pick up a digital copy of 'Weakened At The Asylum' as the proceeds will be going to Flint water-related charities. 

You can stream the lead single 'The Loser Illusion here.

https://midwestsoulxchange.com/

https://www.facebook.com/midwestsoulxchange/

https://twitter.com/mwsoulxchange?lang=en

https://www.instagram.com/midwestsoulxchange/

Eric Anders and Mark O'Bitz Pay Tribute To Lincoln In The Bardo With 'Matterbloomlight'

October 28, 2018

Americana/folk duo Eric Anders and Mark O'Bitz may have seemed like an unlikely duo back in 2002 when they first met.  At that point in time, Eric was training to be a psychoanalyst but had recently begun singing.  The two met at one of Mark's shows and that meeting set a course for what would become a long-lasting partnership.  They recently released a full length album titled 'Of All These Things,' and their single off the record 'Matterbloomlight' is a tribute to George Saunders novel  Lincoln In The Bardo.

Both Eric and Mark have done quite a lot musically since their first meeting in 2002.  Mark worked as a solo artists with gigs at several venues in Southern California and on cruise ships before going on to work on several studio projects with artists such as Jonathan Moffett, Martyn LeNoble, Gavin McKillop, Zachary Rae, Morgan James, and Tim Corcoran (of The Weadon Boys).  After their initial meeting Eric and Mark wrote over 50 songs together, which went on to be released by Eric on four subsequent solo CDs.  Between then and now the duo took some breaks for personal lives with Eric getting married and having children.  Still the pair couldn't deny the artistic chemistry they had and they have resumed this musical partnership with the release of their latest album 'Of All Of These Things.' 

 

As mentioned above, the single 'Matterbloomlight' is an ode to George Saunders' Lincoln In The Bardo.  The song skillfully portrays the mood of the popular novel, and without knowing fully what inspired them to write the song I'd have to guess that both artists are true fans of the story George Saunders put to paper.  The music is haunting, no pun intended, but what I found more impressive was how Eric and Mark seem to be a perfectly matched duo.  If I hadn't known this song was related to the novel at the outset of this review, I would have still thoroughly enjoyed the vocals and the melody.  Knowing a little bit about the book, however, I think the pair did the story justice in their song.  I'd be interested to know if Eric and Mark ever watched the Netflix show Love.  A character in the show and his circle of friends get together to write theme songs for movies that don't have one, and it is a great element of the show.  I think Eric and Mark nailed that concept with 'Matterbloomlight.'

You can listen to the single here.

Artist Name: Eric Anders and Mark O'Bitz
Producer: Jeff Peters
Musicians: Eric Anders (Singer-songwriter), Mark O'Bitz (guitarist, composer)
Styles: Acoustic, Americana, Folk

https://www.andersobitz.com/ 

https://www.facebook.com/ericandersmusic/

Lucinda Belle Is A Striking Breath Of Fresh Air On Her New Single 'I'll Be Loving You'

October 26, 2018

Coming off of her successful covers EP 'Urban Lullabies,' I could not imagine what Lucinda Belle would come up with next.  Her gorgeous cover of Nirvana's 'Smells Like Teen Spirit' was haunting and rich while staying true to the original tone of the iconic single.  When her new single 'Ill Be Loving You' crossed my desk I certainly did not expect it to take me back to the best of 1940's music with such a beautiful jazz infused ballad.  I soon realized that someone with Lucinda's extensive repertoire could do just about anything.

Lucinda Belle is a London native who has a long musical background.  She was considered a child prodigy harpist and played with the National Children's Orchestra.  As time went on she found herself a highly sought after harpist and singer in the pop and jazz worlds.  She has worked with such notables as Natalie Cole, Annie Lennox, Robbie Williams, Pet Shop Boys and Gregory Porter.   She even scored an Oscar Nomination along the way.  After achieving such success in the U.K. she decided to head to the states to share her tremendous talent with us, thankfully.  She has pulled influences from many different genres from classical, jazz, pop, hip-hop, and reggae to create her own smoky sound.  Lucinda gave some input on the single 'I'll Be Loving You:'

'This song was the first song written on my forthcoming album Think Big : Like Me, I remember feeling so raw in my emotions at the time, that I was crying and laughing at my crying in between verses. It was the song that began the album, it represents the feeling of moving on..letting go -  I wanted to write something with groove, depth and sentimentality."

There is a classic sensibility to this track that reminds this writer of the days of big band ballads and artists like Peggy Lee.  At the same time, you can make comparisons to the sultry vocals of Amy Winehouse and the sweet perfection of Elle King.  The style of 'I'll Be Loving You' with it's classic tones fused with a modern jazz feel is reminiscent of Haley Reinhart and Post-Modern Jukebox performances.  This blend of styles is something that I've been hoping to see more of, so this single definitely got my attention.  Lucinda Bell's skilled harp playing only adds richness to an already multi-layered and textured song.  After listening to this track and her Urban Lullabies EP I would highly recommend our readers add Lucinda Belle to their music libraries.  She excels both vocally and uses her broad skillset to create truly beautiful music.

Artist Name: Lucinda Belle
Location: San Francisco
Release Name: I'll Be Loving You
Release Date: Oct 26, 2018
Producer: Tim Bran
Styles: Jazz pop, Pop Noir, Singer Songwriter
For Fans Of: Elle King, Amy Winehouse, Lana del Rey, Imelda May, Caro Emerald

To listen to "I'll Be Loving You" on YouTube, click here.


http://www.lucindabelle.com/

http://www.lucindabelle.live/

Mah-Ze-Tar Takes Us On A Musical Journey With 'Liquid Lotus'

October 25, 2018

Listening to traditional Eastern music can be both uplifting and calming, but we rarely get to experience an album that fuses both tradition with the contemporary to build bridges in the music world.  Mah-Ze Tar may just be the artist to successfully connect traditional Indian music to jazz, opera and modern ambient sounds.

Mah-Ze-Tar is the fusion project of vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Maz Karandish.  He has been listening to and performing music from a very early age.  Currently, he is spending the majority of his time to exploring the possible fusion of Indian, Persian and Eastern music with modern ambient sounds.  The end result of this is 'Liquid Lotus,' released independently on 10/19/2018.  Maz gave a little insight into this project below:

"Liquid Lotus soars through a plethora of musical traditions together in a meaningful way. There are endless possibilities when one utilizes world instruments and gliding vocals in sync with electronic textures and rhythmic grooves. Liquid Lotus uniquely fuses these elements together to create a sound completely unique and unheard of before."

The album itself showcases Mah-Ze-Tar's extensive talent with Maz singing in Hindi, Farsi and English and utilizes world instruments to create beautiful soundscapes.  On the title track 'Liquid Lotus,' Maz incorporates synth, electronic beats and world vocal styles with his traditional Eastern sensibilities to produce a beautiful track that takes you away to some place beautiful.   The remainder of the record is equally stunning and is comprised of 9 songs covering genres from Raga, Maqam, and Dastgah to Harmony, Jazz, and Opera.  This fusion of elements is what makes 'Liquid Lotus' a record you will find surprising and satisfying on many levels.

Artist Name Mah-Ze-Tar
Release Name Liquid Lotus
Release Date 10/19//2018
Label Independent
Producer Elliot Lanam 
Track List
Maand
Bhoopali
Liquid Lotus
Cosmic Union
Yaman
Keshi
Folk Tune
Hamsa
Bilawal 
Musicians Maz Karandish- Instruments, Vocals, & Compositions 

Check out the video for 'Liquid Lotus' here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCyHmiOCiOY

https://mahzetar.com/

https://www.facebook.com/MazKarandish/

Matt Warren Takes Us Back To True House Music With His New Album 'Music Is My Life'

October 25, 2018

Chicago house music icon, producer and engineer Matt Warren has put together a great collection of tracks that will make you wanna get up and move with his new album, 'Music Is My Life.'  Having spent much of his career producing and racking up engineering credits for countless others, 'Music Is My Life' is Matt's first offering of his own music in the past 10 years. 

Matt Warren has been a DJ in Chicago for forty years and a producer since 1984.  It was then that he released his first single 'Rock The Nation,' which inspired him to co-found Sunset Records in 1985, a label that produced many house classics.   In 1987 Matt moved on from Sunset Records and founded AKA Dance Music   By the time the 90's rolled around Matt was writing, arranging, mixing and producing for a wide array of artists, though his love for house music never ceased.  Matt kept busy with producing and engineering up until 2016 when he was reunited with House Music legend Pepper Gomez, who was now known as MyMy Lady G who was now running her own label Wake Up! Music.  After working together on her project 'Flamenco In Time,' MyMy Lady G asked Matt if he'd like to record an album.  With a number of talented musicians and vocalists on board, Matt began his comeback journey that has brought us 'Music Is My Life.'  Matt had this to say on the subject:

"This is my first release of my own music in ten years. I've been producing, engineering and remixing for others, but have not focused on my creative needs for a long time. I felt like I wanted to do a record that reflects my journey as both a musician and DJ. I really wanted to give that old school feel to the songs..I guess what I mean is to record "real music" with live instruments and arrangements...which are kind of a homage of all the music I grew up listening to." 

The great thing about this record is its ability to blend both traditional house music with modern or  "nu house" styles.  Tracks like 'Get On Up' capture the flavor of 80's house music to a tee, while later tracks such as 'Sometimes' feel much more modern and closer to the dance/r&b in recent years.  Matt also included  'Bang The Box' on the record, the first single released by AKA Dance Music, a track that sold over 50,000 copies in America and is regarded widely as the first hard house track.  With dance music ever popular in clubs and at EDM  festivals, Matt Warren's 'Music Is My Life' takes it back to its purest form.  This is a record that could and should influence a new generation of house music fans to appreciate where the urge to move on the dance floor came from. 

Artist Name: Matt Warren
Release Name: Music Is My Life
Release Date: Oct 15, 2018
Label: Wake Up! Music
Producer: Matt Warren and MyMy Lady G
Track List:
Matt Warren-Music Is My Life Track Listing. Times

01 How Do I Love Thee (5:01)

02 The Way To My Heart (6:24)

03 Catch Me If You Can (Main Mix) (6:27)

04 Catch Me If You Can (Disco Mix) (5:48)

05 Get On Up (6:21) 

06 Going Deeper (5:01) 

07 Musica Es Mi Vida) (5:46) 

08 Bang The Box (6:50) 

09 La Rosa (7:18) 

10 Sometimes (4:04) 

11 The Dark Storm (6:12) 


Musicians:
Matt Warren: electronic instruments, programming
Pepper Gomez: vocals
Janis McGee: vocals
Elena Andujar: vocals
Ron Haynes: horns
Mike "Champagne" Anderson: guitar
Antone Montgomery: bass
Sharkeyes: electronic instruments, programming
Frank Schabold: bass
Adam Kucharzyk: guitar
Richard Meyer, Junior: piano
Wes Nelson: bass

https://www.wakeupmusicgroup.com/

https://www.facebook.com/WakeUpMusicGrp/

https://www.instagram.com/wakeupmusicgrp/

Heather Gruber Releases Second Single 'Dancing On The Edge' Off Of Upcoming November Release

October 22, 2018

We recently introduced a talented young artist by the name of Heather Gruber to our readers.  Her full length album 'Dance Into The Desert' is set for release on 11/30/2018, and she is releasing a single every week up until the full album is available publicly.  Her second single 'Dancing On The Edge' conveys a wide array of emotions regarding taking chances and believing in yourself, even when you're in a new place and on your own. 

Heather Gruber is a special individual.  She toured with her grandparents in a Southern Gospel trio during her childhood.  After graduating from college she took a mission trip to India, and upon returning she moved to California to pursue her music career.  The music industry is not an easy one to navigate on your own, and neither is California.  Having been born and raised in Southern California and lived here for all but 8 years of my life, I can't imagine trying to find my footing here on my own and diving into a very competitive career.  Heather wasn't going to be deterred by any of that, even if she faced times of loneliness and doubt along the way.  That is exactly what her full length record 'Dance Into The Desert' is all about.  The second single to be released, 'Dancing On The Edge' echoes the above sentiments with lyrics like "today I wanted to give up" and "today my neck felt tired from holding my head up."  I know I've experienced moments just like that in my life, and Heather Gruber set those emotions to music perfectly with 'Dancing On The Edge.'

Be sure to keep watch for new singles to be released from Heather Gruber each week from now until the release of 'Dance Into The Desert' on 11/30/2018.

https://open.spotify.com/artist/5Hzzw7u6yvHwRHltYicNrW

Patrick Grant Re-Releases His First Album 'Fields Amaze' For Its 20th Anniversary, And Adds Some 'Other Strange Music' To Go Along For The Ride

October 19, 2018

Way back in 1997, composer Patrick Grant got a group of exceptionally talented musicians together to perform the new music he had been working on.  The end result was 'Fields Amaze,' and it was recorded at Looking Glass Studio in 1998 on Grant's label Strange Music.  The music was riveting, exciting and dark; a reflection of the artist himself to be sure.  Grant went on to build his own home studio and continued to create groundbreaking music, equal parts adrenaline and the stuff of nightmares.  I have to admit this stuff is right up my alley.  The new music was never mixed, mastered or released until now.  Enter 'Fields Amaze (And Other Strange Music).'

Grant's original work along with the "lost tracks" were both heavily influended by Chaos Theory and the strange attactors found within.  He blends various instrumental styles and fuses in elements of punk rock, classic composition and pop culture to create a singular sound that may take listeners by surprise.....initially.   Then, as you continue to absorb the record with all its influences (including Grant's love of horror), you begin to understand that this is not your every day radio fare you are listening to.  It could be the soundtrack to your favorite scary movie.   Maybe it's the soundtrack to chaos itself.  I think the point is for the listener to interpret, much like an open-ended finish to a movie.  It leaves you with more questions than answers, but that can be a good thing. 

A little bit about the record from the artist's perspective:

"Fields Amaze (and other strange music)" features mostly instrumental music in intriguing and unexpected fusions of technique and style.  These include powerful percussion ensembles, microtonal piano and Indonesian gamelan played on homemade instruments, classical instruments playing turbulent weather patterns morphed into music, sonic fractals that are - like melodic DNA - "self-similar and self-described."  

My favorite tracks on this album are 'A Visible Track Of Turbulence II' and 'Imaginary Horror Film, Pt. 1.'  They play back to back on the record and start off as what you see in your mind's eye in a suspense thriller, followed by what I'd imagine pure terror to sound like if it were put to music.  I'm completely on board with both scenarios.  This is not music to fall asleep to, but 'Fields Amaze (And Other Strange Music)' will definitely be on your rotation once you listen and take this chaotic ride.

https://tiltedaxes.bandcamp.com/album/fields-amaze-and-other-strange-music

TITLE:  FIELDS AMAZE and other sTRANGE musicBYPatrick GrantLABELPeppergreen MediaRELEASE1 October 2018

Track Listing:

   01 Keeping Still

   02 Fields Amaze

   03 A Visible Track of Turbulence I

   04 Everything Distinct_Everything the Same

   05 A Visible Track of Turbulence II

   06 Imaginary Horror Film - Part 1

   07 The Weights of Numbers

   08 Imaginary Horror Film - Part 2

   09 If One Should Happen to Fall

Venice May's 'Illusion Is Inevitable' Nearly Left Me Speechless

October 20, 2018

by Aly Avina

On September 26, 2018, A duo from Paris, France by the name of Venice May released a record titled 'Illusion Is Inevitable.'  When I wrote above that it nearly left me speechless I was referring to my initial and gut reaction to my first listen, which was simply WOW.  I sat with that for a minute because I was very tempted to make that my entire review.  There wasn't much else I could say at that point, until I took another listen....and then another.  Then it occurred to me that if I was only going to write one word I had many to choose from; stunning, exceptional and flawless were just a few.  Before I break it down further let me give you a little background on Venice May.

Venice May is a project that first came together in 2013 and was put together by Natalia and Vincent.  They are a couple both on stage and off and they have come together to create some of the most powerful music we have heard in a long time.  They are able to create haunting soundscapes without synth, but using guitar effects and crisp powerful vocals that rival anyone in the industry.   The duo themselves endeavor not to  draw comparisons to other artists, but for the benefit of our readers I can tell you that I can hear a blend of Portishead, Florence and the Machine and dare I say System Of A Down in what Venice May have created.  The lead single 'Hiding Place' actually encompasses all of those comparisons in one track.   There is also incredible artistic flare harkening back to The Smashing Pumpkins.  This is alternative post-rock at its finest.  Other standout tracks for me were 'Mr and Misadventure' and 'In The Presence Of A Ghost.'

Artist Name: Venice May
Location: Paris, France
Release Name: Illusion Is Inevitable
Release Date: Sep 26, 2018
Label: Independent
Producer: Venice May


Track List:
1. A Mouse And A Snake
2. Only I Will Remain
3. Hiding Place
4. Thinning Ice
5. Mr & Misadventure
6. Limerence
7. Disequilibrium
8. Down That Alley
9. One Way Out
10. Devil's Lap
11. The Nerve
12. XYZ
13. In The Presence Of A Ghost

Check out the video for the lead single 'Hiding Place' here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1whOT5TaF8

https://www.venicemay.com/

https://www.facebook.com/venicemaymusic

https://www.instagram.com/venicemaymusic/

https://twitter.com/venicemaymusic

Nehedar Breaks Genre Barriers With 'Escaping Zion'

October 20, 2018

We often come across artists that combine multiple genres to create their sound.  When that happens you can just about always break down where each influence is within the song or album.  In Nehedar's case, however, she has managed to truly stay "genre fluid" on her recent release 'Escaping Zion.'  There are so many good things happening on this record that it will take you more than a minute to understand and soak it all in.

Nehedar is the project of underground singer/songwriter Emilia Cataldo, an artist who began performing her music in Williamsburg, Brooklyn and NYC's lower east side in 2003.  She went on to collaborate with Little Pioneer in 2007 to create her unique sound.  After some extensive performing she took some time off to have a baby before returning to creating music in 2017.  She worked with new full-time bandmate cellist/harpist 
Elisheva Maister, trumpeter Jordan Hirsch, electric guitarist Tim Rockmore, and longtime producer Craig Levy (Little Pioneer) for her new album due 'Escaping Zion.' 

This album is not something easily put into a box, but rather a collection of songs that the listeners can decide what style they fall into.  You might hear vocals that remind you of Shirley Manson from Garbage on one track, then on another there is acoustic guitar and trumpet that reminds you of something else entirely.  The trumpet actually had some mariachi flare to it.  Yet on another track I was reminded of Tori Amos and the beautiful breaks in her voice.  What I found really beautiful was the cello on 'They Don't Teach,' and this was definitely a stand out track for me.  There was a Florence And The Machine quality to it, and the fact that the artist is able to blend so many different styles and instruments is what makes 'Escaping Zion' a record to pick up and really spend time with.  You may experience something completely different than someone else, but that is absolutely the beauty of it.

1.  Survival

2.  Mod Civ

3.  Blind Spot

4.  Paralyzed

5.  You Were

6.  The Tainted Grain

7.  Miss Thing

8.  Thoughts and Prayers

9.  They Don't Teach

10. Two Steps Behind

11. Safe

12. Planets With Benny 

You can listen to and purchase the digital album here:  https://music.nehedar.com/album/escaping-zion


http://nehedar.com/ 

https://www.facebook.com/nehedarmusic/

https://twitter.com/nehedar

Monique Angele Covers Various Topics Gracefully On 'Alive'

October 18, 2018

Independent singer-songwriter Monique Angele released a 6-track record titled 'Alive' on 09/07/2018, and it's a record not to be missed.  It brings together elements of pop, alternative, classical piano and soul into a singer-songwriter presentation that all listeners can appreciate.  It also dives into some important topics on each track.  Monique has expressed that she wanted to express different emotions that all show what it feels like to be alive, and with this perfectly genre-blended EP I think she has done just that.

Hailing from Canada and now living in Australia, Monique Angele has a background in classical piano, opera and musical theater.  She has since embarked on making her own unique music that can range from a classical ethereal feel to a pop sound rather effortlessly.  All of her musical background and experience make her a very confident and accomplished vocalist, which is something that shines through on this EP.  When it comes to the emotions she was trying to convey in her music the artists says it best:

"I was inspired to release this album because I wanted to create something that pushed the boundaries in regards to songwriting, production and subject matter. I believe each song dives into the raw emotions and passions of what it feels like to be "alive." and shows to not be afraid to express oneself fully. The songs range from ethereal bliss, political change, depression and love." 

My favorite track on 'Alive' is definitely 'Rare Girl.'  It has a beautiful melody and spotlights what an incredibly talented vocalist Monique Angele truly is.  The song itself is about a strong woman who is a fighter and survivor.  This is a theme that is incredibly important in today's world, so to here it delivered with gorgeous vocals and perfect piano precision is what made it stand out to me. 

Artist Name: Monique Angele
Release Name: Alive
Release Date: 09/07/2018
Producer: Sean O'Sullivan
Track List:
1. Pink Coloured Sky
2. Our Paradise
3. Forever Strong
4. Rare Girl
5. Hold On
6. I Want a World

 

You can listen to the new single 'Our Paradise' on Spotify here:

 

https://open.spotify.com/album/4gkucPjOZ64bq3w5Xu5Z27?si=03R-1DxuR9-K8TqEJPFTnA

https://www.moniqueangele.com/

https://www.facebook.com/moniqueangeleofficial/

https://twitter.com/monique_angele

https://www.instagram.com/monique_angele/

Pete Mancini's New Single 'Pine Box Derby' Is Beautifully Done

October 17, 2018

Folk/Americana artist Pete Mancini recently released a new single titled 'Pine Box Derby,' and it tells a powerful story about assessing our choices in life.  It's been a while since an artist from the alternative folk realm has made me really stop and appreciate their work.  Mancini has exceptional storytelling abilities on 'Pine Box Derby,' coupled with perfect vocals and a beautiful melody.  There is a very genuine story behind the single, and the artist says it best:

 "I was a Tiger Scout as a kid. I had one major accomplishment in my short-lived scout career: I won the Pine Box Derby. Fast forward to 2016 when I was going through some tough times. I went on a walk to clear my head, and passed by the church where they held scout meetings all those years ago. They have AA meetings there now. I found that kind of  funny and went  home with a vers  in my head..the song was finished that night. It's a song about looking in the mirror and staring down some hard truths. At some point we all have to take stock of the road we're on and whether or not we want to course correctly. We can't go back, but we can map out our paths along the way and pass them on.   A signpost at a crossroads, somewhere between hardship and a higher road that leads you home."

Pete Mancini got his start in music as the frontman and primary songwriter for NYC rock band Butcher's Blind.  His debut solo album 'Foothill Freeway' dives into Americana influences.  Mancini pulls from some great influences such as Jackson Browne and Jason Isbell, and you can definitely hear their impact on what Pete has done with 'Pine Box Derby.'  There is something about this genre of music that makes every lyric feel personal.  This definitely rings true for every line in this song.  I am very much looking forward to the release of the full length album next year.  For now, we can highly recommend the lead off single 'Pine Box Derby from Pete Mancini.  You can listen to the track on Spotify here: 

https://open.spotify.com/album/6eo9wszan7AiVgzRT30Bp0 

https://petemancini.com/

https://www.facebook.com/petemancinimusic

https://www.instagram.com/pete_mancini/

https://twitter.com/pete_mancini

Singer-songwriter Laura Paragano Gets Personal With 'Strange Curses'

October 17, 2018

A gifted singer-songwriter can transport you to places with a set of lyrics or a haunting vocal.   San Francisco artist Laura Paragano not only possesses both of those qualities, but her recent debut release 'Strange Curses' is a soulful collection of deeply felt emotions.  They say that writing your feelings and emotions down can be very therapeutic.  If that's the case, then I would imagine the process of writing and recording this album was a very healing experience for Laura Paragano. 

When describing the record, Laura had this to say:

""Strange Curses" is a literal record of myself. Although I only started writing the songs for the album two years ago, I've been working on this album for much longer. Every song relates to a particular feeling that has viscerally impacted me. Some are very old feelings, and not putting them to words was burning a hole inside of me. It wasn't until recently that I found the right way and right people to externalize these feelings."  

What I enjoyed most about 'Strange Curses' was the desperate feeling that came through each track of wanting to communicate specific feelings to the listener.  One of my favorite tracks had to be '3/4.'  I am including a link to the video for this song so you can check it out for yourself.   The lyrics seem to walk you through the experience of insomnia, whether there are underlying reasons for the condition is only known to the artist.  Regardless, this is very relatable and you can feel the melancholy going on here.  Vocally, I can definitely make comparisons to a couple of Laura's influences such as Angel Olsen and Phoebe Bridgers, both artists that have an ethereal quality and can make you feel things deeply.

Track List:
1. Out for a Surf
2. I'm Fine
3. Can't Give
4. 3/4
5. And You
6. California Dreaming
7. Sick
8. Juliet, Romeo
9. I'm on Fire
10. Doom / Strange Curses

Be sure to check out the video for '3/4' here:  https://youtu.be/qJy0HceSpcs

https://www.facebook.com/lauraparaganomusic/

https://www.instagram.com/lauraparagano/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_HcQGCOi6JWgia_XOPeSVw

Weather McNabb Brings A Dark Alternative Flare To Her Debut EP 'Cubicle Zombie'

October 17, 2018

Alternative female artists are a gem.  There are plenty of female pop artists out there doing similar things, but rare are those that infuse true alternative tones and beats into today's musical atmosphere.  Enter Weather McNabb, a Minneapolis native who has spent most of her adult life in Boston.  She found herself holding back on her music career after the recession, doing what most everyone at that time had to do to get by.....working the daily grind doing bookkeeping jobs while chronicling her daily struggles in her songwriting.  We are so glad she did.

In 2016, Weather connected with Boston indie music legend and producer Peter Moore (Count Zero, Think Tree).  Over the next couple of years they worked together to craft her debut EP 'Cubicle Zombie,' a five track record that showcases some truly skilled vocals and beats that will take you back to alternative and elctropop at its finest.  Aptly titled, the EP tells of the harsh realities of struggling in the daily grind of the modern world.  The lyrics are clever, dark and emphasize what it's like to navigate the working environment as a woman.  Weather McNabb is a feminist who tackles some very relatable topics in today's current climate.  This is just one reason to check out 'Cubicle Zombie.'  Another reason would be Weather's voice.  I can definitely pick up shades of Shirley Manson and Fiona Apple in her tone and style.  A standout track for me was 'War Paint.'  The drums in the intro took us way back to the days of Adam Ant, and the beat continued throughout the song coupled with Weather's powerful vocals.  We loved everything about this track.

The information for this EP release is as follows:

Artist Name: Weather McNabb
Release Name: Cubicle Zombie
Release Date: Aug 26, 2018
Producer: Peter Moore
Track List:
1. Good Morning 2. Adapt 3. War Paint 4. Time Machine 5. User Error

This EP is one we highly recommend to our readers.  Be sure to follow Weather McNabb on all her socials and spread the word.

https://twitter.com/WeatherMcNabb

https://soundcloud.com/user-75280168

Lee Sun Dives Into Some Deep Emotions With 'Singing You This Song'

October 15, 2018

Listening to independent artists is one of my favorite things to do.  When one comes along that is unique and has great storytelling capabilities it definitely sticks with me.  Lee Sun has created an artistic, compelling and empowering record with her full length release 'Singing You This Song' due out 10/29/2018.  The latest single released from the album is 'My Life,' a song that Sun says is about doing what makes you happy and not worrying about what other people think.  That is a sentiment that needs to be communicated more often.

Lee Sun was born in Korea, quickly moved to Canada as a baby and now resides in the UK.  She studied classical piano while at University and then began to produce her music independently.  Lee worked with several professional musicians in the studio to deliver the final album.  The lead single was released on 08/31/2018 and is called 'Dry Your Tears.'  This is definitely one of the more powerful songs on the record.  Lee had this to say about 'Dry Your Tears:'

"The song (and video) "Dry Your Tears" is about a life involving continuous suffering, right from early childhood, and a lifelong fight to simply stay alive and cope with pain." 

That statement is so powerful, as are the lyrics on each and every track on this album.  What drives home the emotions that live within Lee's lyrics is her angelic voice.  Lee possesses a voice that is soft with gorgeous breaks in it to inflect just the right emotions at the right places.  There is Bjork-like quality in it, but also inflections of Ellie Goulding and Regina Spektor.  The latest single 'My Life' has a quirkiness to it while conveying a very positive message; be true to who you are.   We will be posting the video link to 'My Life' below which exemplifies the upbeat nature of the song to a tee.  One of my favorites on the record does not have such a happy vibe, but I find it to be hauntingly rich in texture and meaning.  That song is 'Everything Dies,' and I highly recommend this one to our readers to check out.  It is melancholy for sure, but gave me chills each time I listened to it.

Lee Sun's 'Singing You This Song' is great collection of songs that left me feeling like I had walked in the artist's shoes throughout the trials and tribulations of her life.  It was truthful and easy to identify with.  The current single 'My Life' is a catchy and upbeat track with a good message, and that is in short supply these days.  Be sure to pick up 'Singing You This Song' on 10/29/2018, and follow Lee on her social sites.

'My Life' video can be viewed here:  https://youtu.be/pZgE1W1ZLYM 44

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUEkbn03b1w&feature=youtu.be

https://www.facebook.com/LeeSunMusic/

https://twitter.com/leesun

https://www.instagram.com/leesunmusic/

0101 Gives Us An Original Experience In Their Self-Titled Debut

October 15, 2018

What is originality in art?  While that may not be an easy question to answer, it is nice to see an artist come forward with something that is truly thought provoking.  Let's start by talking logistics.  There are two total songs on this record, together totaling 33 minutes.  They encompass the field records of the inhabitants of the Village of Kambot, at the shore of the Sepik river in Papua New Guinea, combined with distinctive guitar sounds and drum samples to formulate a totally unique sound. 

There was much preparation and thought that went into recording the two tracks on this record.  For the technical portion I am going to insert the information given directly from the artist's website (since I don't think I could do it appropriate justice if paraphrased):

"The recording was done in a live session. Fundamental for the live sound is the spatial acoustic of a huge factory building. This location was chosen, to archive a rough, live room sound. The room was miked, with close-up mikes used only as supplements. The mix was mastered on tape with a vintage Struder A80 ribbon machine.  Distinctive for the guitar sound are two old transistor amplifiers from the late 70s, as well as reverb and delay pedals. Carl bets on the combination of digital and analogue modules. The bass lines are played also with the guitar and pitched down by an octave. This signal is sent to a bass amp, which completes the stereo guitar amp setup.  Daniel von Rüdiger sets up his sample-drums with sequence software, using his field recordings to create a distinctive vibe. The result is an amalgam of sterile industrial sounds and agile noises. The spatial acoustic keeps both together and gives the digital percussion instruments its analogue touch.  For recording, editing, mixing and mastering 0101 work closely with Reinhard Gross, head of the studio and label Hicktown Records."

To be able to fully comprehend the genius that went into this album, I highly recommend going to the oficial 0101 website's to read about the backstory, the making of the record and the artists behind it.  It is definitely worth the read.  You can find the website here:  http://www.0101.wtf/

The first track on the record is KANU, and it documents the manufacture and transport of a dugout canoe.  In it a field recording of the people of Kambot showcases their raised voices, and this is interwoven with the aforementioned guitar and drums to create a post-modern rock cinematic experience.  The second track SAGO encompasses the harvesting and processing of the staple food SAGO.  In listening to both, I did find myself transported to another place and time.  It is hard to put into words how almost calming the tracks are, as well as inspiring.  Check out the teaser trailer below to get a feel for yourself:

https://vimeo.com/271121124

 

0101's debut album is definitely something worth checking out if you have an ear for true art that comes from creative passion.

Olivia Cella Delivers A Memorable Pop/R&B Single With 'Us2'

October 14, 2018

Singer/actor Olivia Cella is 17-years-old and definitely an artist to watch.  She released her single 'Us2' on 10/08/18, and it is definitely making an impression in the music industry.  Olivia began singing at the early age of 4 in her preschool choir.  By the age of 12 she was performing cover videos on her YouTube channel to critical acclaim.  In fact, her Taylor Swift 'Blank Space" video went viral with over 550,000 views.  She then went on to reach #10 on the New Music Weekly Charts with her last release 'Missing You,' with the music video currently airing on MTVU and MTV.  Needless to say, Olivia Cella is on everyone's radar.

Her latest single 'Us2' is inspired by the great Grover Washington's 'Just The Two Of Us' with some pop variation.  As a vocalist, Olivia has control far beyond her years.  Her sound is polished and not manufactured in the studio.  She is a natural singer, to be sure.   The single itself is a great pop tune with some R&B flavor.  It's easy to see why MTV has taken notice of this bright young artist, and I have no doubt she will have a very eventful 2019.  It is also nice to have a romantic, feel good song put on the map by such a young artist.   We see a bright future for Olivia Cella.  Check out the video for 'Us2' here: 

 

https://youtu.be/Kq_KzJ0vqs8

https://www.facebook.com/oliviacella1/

https://www.instagram.com/oliviacella/

https://twitter.com/OliviaCella1

https://www.youtube.com/user/OliviaCella